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On Tuesday, October 6, 2015, Chief Justice John Roberts of the United States Supreme
Court denied an application that would have stayed implementation of the US Department
of Labor’'s Home Care Final Rule. The rule applies to minimum wage and overtime.

Currently, all Ohio independent providers are paid at a rate that meets or exceeds
federal minimum wage standards.

The Department of Developmental Disabilities (DODD) will make overtime payments to
eligible independent providers who bill for more than 40 hours in a work week for dates
of service beginning January 1, 2016.

The DODD will calculate overtime payments for Homemaker/Personal Care Services
based on the existing rate methodology as set forth in the chart below. Additionally,
the rate accounts for the 6% rate increase that goes into effect on January 1, 2016.

Category \ Explanation Independent

Direct Care/Support Average hourly wage for direct support $11.12

Payroll taxes, worker's compensation, health
care, retirement, & paid time off for direct

Employee Related care support (30% of wages for agencies;
Expenses (ERE) 32% for independents) $3.566
Supervisor/QMRP Average hourly wage for direct support

Payroll taxes, worker's compensation, health
care, retirement, & paid time off for
supervisor/QMRP {30% of wages for
Supervisor ERE agencies; 32% for independents)

Time that is worked but not billed; includes
ISP meetings, staff meetings, travel time,
Productivity etc. (2% for agencies; 10% for independents) |$1.52

Administrative and training costs that are

Administration/ not billed (18% for agencies; 7% for
Training independents) $1.13
Total Base Rate $17.33
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Overtime payments will be calculated by taking the hourly wage rate dividing by 2 then
adding that number back to the HPC Medicaid Hourly rate, as follows:

1. Base HPC hourly wage rate = $11.12
2. Overtime calculation = $11.12/2 = $5.56

3. Base HPC hourly Medicaid rate = $17.33 (includes wage assumption, ERE,
productivity, and administrative/training assumptions)

4. $17.33 + $5.56 = $22.89

5. Total hourly rate with overtime = $22.89

6. In any given case, the actual hourly rate will reflect the cost-of-doing-business
category for the provider’s location.

7. Finally, if there is a rate add-on, that amount will be applied after the overtime rate
is calculated.

8. At this time, overtime payments will not count against an individual’s Ohio
Developmental Disabilities Profile (ODDP) ranges or waiver caps. No prior
authorization or budget adjustments are required.

DODD recognizes that overtime will sometimes be necessary, such as in emergency
situations or when no other provider is willing to serve the individual. If more than 40
hours per week are being routinely scheduled for an independent provider, the Service
and Support Administrator, the individual, and the family should begin planning to
reduce the number of overtime hours over the next year. This may include recruiting
additional providers, if needed.

DODD will monitor overtime payment to individual providers, as well as on an aggregate
basis, to assess the overall impact of overtime payments and to conduct audits as
necessary.

Additionally, on December 9, 2015, the Ohio General Assembly clarified in law that an
Independent Provider who provides services to an individual on Medicaid is not a public
employee.

If you have questions, please contact the DODD Support Center at 800-617-6733.
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